ASHMUG Discussion Archives

Emergency, resolved

Date: November 13, 2009   permalink

From: Daria inbar <doc@[Protected]>
BTW, when a friend sends you a link to an external website on Facebook
you might get a warning notice when you click on it, with a scary
virus alert.

If you click on the same link, or copy the URL, from your Facebook
inbox or from the e-mail notification you get, you'll see the site is
fine. The problem arises when the url is prefaced by facebook and goes
through facebook, don't know why, even though the site was sent to you
by a friend and is safe.

Of course, always better safe than sorry.

Daria.

--------
This list is for the Ashland Macintosh Users Group - to support our Mac
community.

If you received this in error or wish to unsubscribe, just send a blank
email to ashmug-talk-off@[Protected] .

For searchable, web-based archives go to http://archives.ashmug.com .

Questions/problems: Contact Doug Gentry, Dynapolis: doug@[Protected]

Date: November 13, 2009   permalink

From: Doug Gentry <doug@[Protected]>
And I've taken to ignoring (or at least not acting on) emails that are
ostensibly from Facebook, asking me to friend someone. I go to FB
directly and if the request is legitimate, there is a notice in the
upper right corner. Sometimes those email notices look odd to me, and
I don't trust them.

....Doug

On Nov 13, 2009, at 8:22 AM, Daria inbar wrote:

> BTW, when a friend sends you a link to an external website on
> Facebook you might get a warning notice when you click on it, with a
> scary virus alert.
>
> If you click on the same link, or copy the URL, from your Facebook
> inbox or from the e-mail notification you get, you'll see the site
> is fine. The problem arises when the url is prefaced by facebook and
> goes through facebook, don't know why, even though the site was sent
> to you by a friend and is safe.
>
> Of course, always better safe than sorry.
>
> Daria.
>
> --------
> This list is for the Ashland Macintosh Users Group - to support our
> Mac community.
> If you received this in error or wish to unsubscribe, just send a
> blank email to ashmug-talk-off@[Protected] .
> For searchable, web-based archives go to http://archives.ashmug.com .
>
> Questions/problems: Contact Doug Gentry, Dynapolis:
> doug@[Protected]
>



---
Doug Gentry
Dynapolis & Southern Oregon University
p: 541-261-8501 / Toll Free: 866-890-6013
doug@[Protected]
www.dynapolis.com - blog: www.plain-sense.com



--------
This list is for the Ashland Macintosh Users Group - to support our Mac
community.

If you received this in error or wish to unsubscribe, just send a blank
email to ashmug-talk-off@[Protected] .

For searchable, web-based archives go to http://archives.ashmug.com .

Questions/problems: Contact Doug Gentry, Dynapolis: doug@[Protected]